My Pages

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Site Announcements, Updates, Etc

Coming Soon:
~Review: The Killing Woods
~Review: The Waiting Sky
~Review: A Certain Slant of Light
~Review: Timepiece
~Review: Infinityglass


Sunday, April 11, 2010

Review: Darklight

Darklight by Lesley Livingston
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pub. Date: December 22nd, 2009
Pages: 312
Age Level: 14+
Series: #2 in Wondrous Strange Trilogy


Synopsis
Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom...or part them forever.

The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black.

Review
Darklight was a series of small, wonderful surprises all rolled into one. I honestly didn't know 2nd books could be THIS good. Lesley Livingston does an absolute marvelous job of continuing Kelley and Sonny's story.

I admit I was surprised by how much the characters continued to grow and develop in not only personality, but also internal conflict and motive in Darklight. I didn't just get to know some of the characters better, like Sonny and Kelley; instead, it seemed I got to know them all better. For example, I really thought I had Auberon, Kelley's dad and King of the Unseelie Winter Court, all figured out in Wondrous Strange. However, I was very mistaken. And with Sonny, I soooo didn't see that twist coming. I grew to understand and love Kelley's character even more. Fennrys and Tyff are also two other characters whom I got to see a lot more of than in Wondrous Strange and I really loved getting to delve into their characters more, especially Tyff. When it comes down to it, I would probably have to say that this trilogy has one of the best cast of characters I've ever come across.

Until I read Wondrous Strange I didn't really think it was possible for a book to have absolutely no slow spots, but it didn't and nor did Darklight; at least not that I recall. Even though not all of the scenes are action packed somehow these books manage to carry on a quick and consistent pace without being overloaded or rushed. The plot for Darklight was slightly more twisted and way less predictable than in Wondrous Strange making Darklight even better than it's predecessor. Not too mention that it still manages to hold on to that great suspense level and story line, a unique Shakespearean aspect, and an enchanting quality of writing.

The ending...OMG...don't even get me started! Talking about a serious cliffhanger. I understand why Kelley thought she had to do what she did but it still made me want to throw the book at the wall; which I didn't, by the way, because I love and cherish my books and would never want to cause one harm. And those last two pages have got me planning how I'm going to manage to steal the manuscript for the third and final installation in this terrific trilogy.

What can I say, I figured Darklight would be great but it really out shined my expectations. I just hope that the final book can live up to just how wonderful Darklight is. If you have not read this trilogy yet, you are REALLY missing out; it has the entire package of dynamic characters, a gripping plot, lovely writing, cliffhanger endings, and gorgeous covers. What more could you ask for?

Grade
Characters: A-
Writing: B+
Plot: A-
Ending: A

2nd in Trilogy: A
Enjoyment/Likability: A
Recommendable: A+

Cover: A-

Overall: A-



You can read my review of Wondrous Strange HERE!


14 comments:

La Coccinelle said...

Wow... Now I'm wondering if we read the same book!

I agree... the twist about Sonny was pretty good. I didn't really see that coming, either. But as for the story itself, I couldn't quite figure out what the plot was. Sure, a lot of stuff happened, but there didn't seem to be much rhyme or reason to it.

But of course I have to read the next book. I hope we don't have to wait too long for it!

Book Monster said...

I'm slowly devouring this book and loving it. I think in my honest opinion it out does the first one. Great review of it :)

pirate penguin said...

I really enjoyed the first book so I'm excited about the sequel! I want to read these amazing plot twists that you're talking about!!

Eleni @ La Femme Readers said...

I'm go glad to see you liked this book, I'm in love with this series!

Natalie (Mindful Musings) said...

I really enjoyed Wondrous Strange, but I haven't gotten a chance to read Darklight yet. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Now I'm even more excited! :)

Christa said...

I skimmed this review, secretly afraid of finding spoilers. (The description of the book has not-so-surprising spoilers, but spoilers none the less).

However, I was more than pleased to hear that the 2nd book lived up to the 1st. I'm always disappointed when series take "nose dives" after that first book. It makes some sense (the author likely spent a lot more time on the first book, especially if they're a debut writer) but it's still disappointing.

I'm going to have to get these books! : )
Thanks.
Christa

elizabeth said...

I hate cliffhangers, but they are to be expected. I enjoy character growth in books. I'll definitely add this series to my wishlist :)

marian said...

really enjoyed the first one and can't wait to read darklight, it is in my TBR pile. great review!

aprilnichole.com said...

I still have to read the first one. I like that you said there was a twist and a good cliffhanger. Second books in series or trilogies aren't always that good so I'm glad you liked this one so much.

Christine H said...

I really like your reviews. These books sound great. My nieces will love them!

Aik said...

I really want to read them now! I guess I'm starting to feel interested about faeries.

Elizabeth said...

She looks so beautiful and the book sounds great can't wait to read the first and second one

Kelly said...

I'm so glad the 2nd book was awesome for you...I hate when they are a disappointment. Kudos to Lesley! Great review Briana! :D

pepsivanilla said...

Oh my goodness, you have me really excited to read this! I'm trying to think of what the twists could possibly be and I have NO idea! I have to get this soon.

About Me

My photo
Georgia, United States
Hello all! My name is Briana, I'm 20, and I live in the beautiful state of Georgia. I love reading and photography.

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P
Meet Rudy everyone!