My Pages

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Site Announcements, Updates, Etc

Coming Soon:
~Review: The Killing Woods
~Review: The Waiting Sky
~Review: A Certain Slant of Light
~Review: Timepiece
~Review: Infinityglass


Sunday, July 10, 2011

Noteworthy Passages: Cold Kiss

Cold Kiss (ARC) by Amy Garvey
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pub. Date: September 20th, 2011
Pages: 304
Age Level: 14+
Source: For review from publisher.


Disclaimer: Please note that this is an ARC and passages and quotes below are subject to change in the final copy.


Synopsis via Goodreads
“It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.”

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.


Noteworthy Passages

Wren; pg. 3
It wasn't love right away, because nothing ever is, no matter what the songs say, but it was the start of it. A beginning in one way, and the end in another. I think that might always be true of love.

Wren; pg. 120
"I get it, okay? I really, really get it, believe me, and I've been living with this since July, instead of the last half hour. So just...back off already. I'm a big girl and I will deal with this. But first I have to find my sister's senile cat."

Wren; pg. 161-162
I don't deserve a happy ending. I don't even deserve a semi-happy ending, because Danny isn't going to get one. He might have--he might have been in heaven, for all I know, lounging around in his favorite T-shirt with his guitar making the kind of noises he couldn't quite get it to make while he was alive and pinning his drawings to the clouds. I took that away from him. So I could have him back, so I wouldn't be alone.

Olivia; pg. 245
"I wish I could do something more to help," she tells me before taking a sighing breath and relaxing. "But for now I'm going to treat myself to a very stiff drink. Or four. And say a prayer of thanks that I wasn't the one who got the woo-woo powers in my family."


~~~~~~~~~~

Okay I know, I usually don't do as many as four but this was after having already narrowed things down. Yep, that good! So, here you have it, an equal blend of humorous and serious. If these, paired with my review, don't make you want to read Cold Kiss, I don't know what will. Be sure to let me know your thoughts.

As always, thanks for stopping by! :D


Pre-order Cold Kiss Now (My Review)
Amazon / Kindle / B&N / Book Depository










PLEASE NOTE: This is a feature hosted here at my blog in which I present you with selected passages or quotes that I deem Noteworthy from a book I've just reviewed. My hopes are of course, that these passages will make you want to pick the book up and read it. This feature was started and created by me in January in hopes of making my blog more unique. That being said, I would like to kindly request that you do not use this feature as it was intended to be for my blog only and is not a meme. If you see some one else using it, please know it is without my permission. Thank you.

1 comments:

Jessica Secret said...

You know, I don't think I've ever heard of Cold Kiss, but all your teasers have me intrigued! Especially the second one, mostly cause it ends with, "But first I have to find my sister's senile cat."

About Me

My photo
Georgia, United States
Hello all! My name is Briana, I'm 20, and I live in the beautiful state of Georgia. I love reading and photography.

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P
Meet Rudy everyone!