My Pages

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Site Announcements, Updates, Etc

Coming Soon:
~Review: The Killing Woods
~Review: The Waiting Sky
~Review: A Certain Slant of Light
~Review: Timepiece
~Review: Infinityglass


Friday, January 14, 2011

Noteworthy Passages: The Sky is Every Where

The Sky is Every Where (ARC) by Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial
Pub. Date: March 9th, 2010
Pages: 272
Age Level: 14+
Source:
From Trade


Please note that this is an ARC and passages below are subject to change in the final copy.


Synopsis via Goodreads
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Noteworthy Passages

Lennie; pg. 12
As I walk through the redwood trees, my sneakers sopping up days of rain, I wonder why bereaved people even bother with mourning clothes when grief itself provides such an unmistakable wardrobe.

Lennie and Big; pg. 135
"Well, my expert opinion, which I draw from vast experience and five glorious, albeit flawed marriages, is that Lennie Walker aka John Lennon is out of her mind in love."
Big and Gram are smiling down at me. I feel like Dorothy waking in her bed, surrounded by her Kansans after having been over the rainbow.

Lennie; pg. 210
And it's just dawned on me that I might be the author of my own story, but so is everyone else the author of their own stories, and sometimes, like now, there's no overlap.

~~~~~~~~

The Sky is Every Where is, as a whole, a very noteworthy book so finding passages to share with you all wasn't hard. Hope you all enjoyed them and that these passages and my review will encourage you to pick this book up to read.

As always, thanks for stopping by. Comments are greatly appreciated. :D








PLEASE NOTE: This is a feature hosted here at my blog in which I present you with selected passages or quotes that I deem Noteworthy from a book I've just reviewed. My hopes are of course, that these passages will make you want to pick the book up and read it. This feature was started and created by me in January in hopes of making my blog more unique. That being said, I would like to kindly request that you do not use this feature as it was intended to be for my blog only and is not a meme. If you see some one else using it, please know it is without my permission. Thank you.

5 comments:

Nikki (Wicked Awesome Books) said...

I kind of want to re-read this book because I loved it so much. I read it in one sitting, in one night, but I just remember being blown away by Nelson's writing. Great passages!

Shelena Shorts said...

Oh, I've added this to my TBR pile. Sounds good!

Michelle said...

This book was filled with beautiful quotes. I especially loved the poems.

Rachel said...

I loved this book. Great passages, you did well considering how many great sentences there were. :)

Mavie said...

cool passages! beautiful!

About Me

My photo
Georgia, United States
Hello all! My name is Briana, I'm 20, and I live in the beautiful state of Georgia. I love reading and photography.

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P

My Partner in Crime...er...I mean reading. :P
Meet Rudy everyone!